Tuesday, January 05, 2010

History of The WEG

Centralequine.com - Full Article
By Diana De Rosa

January 1 2010

The concept of the World Equestrian Games–with the championships of all of the major equestrian disciplines held
simultaneously at a single venue–is relatively new.

1990: The first Games were staged in Stockholm, Sweden, when the FEI held six world championships—including jumping, dressage, eventing, and the non-Olympic disciplines of driving, endurance and vaulting.

1994: After the successful Stockholm Games, the World Equestrian Games were held at The Hague, Netherlands,
following the 1990 format of six world championships.

2002: Jerez, Spain, was home to the 2002 Games. In addition to the traditional six disciplines, reining made its debut as the seventh world championship event.


No comments: